Subscribe to our Extended Network to stay informed about news and opportunities.

Subscribe to the network


All the latest Ouranos’ publications and news.
Discover all the publications >


Apr 6th 2022

Downscaled climate research and sustainable transition knowledge creation : international perspective

Read more
Mar 31st 2022

Ouranos’s relevance confirmed with Government of Quebec investment of nearly $20M

Read more
Mar 14th 2022

What are the key takeaways of the IPCC report on climate change impacts and adaptation?

Read more


Board of Directors
  • Yves Langhame, President of the board, retired employee from Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec (IREQ)
  • Katia Petit, Deputy Director, Civil Protection and Fire Safety, Ministère de la Sécurité Publique- (MSP)
  • Claude Guertin, Acting Scientific Director, INRS
  • Stéphane Bouchard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministère des Affaires Municipales et de l’Habitation (MAMH)
  • Jeffrey MacDonald, Director General, Climate change adaptation, Environment and Climate change Canada
  • Louis-Philippe Houle, Director, Health, Safety and Environmment (Hydro-Québec)
  • Isabelle Chartier, Director, Research and Innovation – Production, IREQ
  • Jean-François Gibeault, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC)
  • Christian Agbobli, Vice-Rector, Research and Creation, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
  • Michel J. Tremblay, Assistant Vice-Rector, Research and Creation, Université Laval
  • Kristina Öhrvall, Director, Strategic initiatives, McGill University
  • Anne-Marie Leclerc, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministère des Transports (MTQ)
  • Francis Zwiers, Director, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium
OBSERVERS – administrators without voting rights
  • Denise Moranville, Director, Organizational Support, Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MEI)
  • Alain Bourque, Executive Director, Ouranos
  • Yves Renaud, Administrative Director, Ouranos

Scientific council
  • Gregory Flato, Manager and Research Scientist, Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma)
  • Stéphane Hallegatte, Senior Economist, Climate Change Group, World Bank
  • Vincent Fortin, Scientist, Environment Canada
  • Linda Mearns, Director, Institute for the Study of Society and the Environment (ISSE) National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)
  • Linda Mortsch, Researcher, University of Waterloo
  • Jean-Pierre Revéret, Professeur titulaire Dpt de Stratégie, responsabilité sociale et environnementale, ESG Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Denis Salles, Research Director, Institut national de recherche en sciences et technologies pour l’environnement et l’agriculture (Bordeaux, France)
  • Roger Street, Technical Director, UKCIP, England

Financial management is handled by senior management and overseen by a firm of auditors reporting to the Board of Directors.

Logistics are handled by an administrative group and a computer services group.

Senior management oversees the scientific program, subject to approval by the Board of Directors. An external scientific council, consisting of independent researchers, advises the Executive Director on scientific aspects of the program.

Stay informed

Join the Ouranos network to receive our quarterly newsletter and other information.